The Answers You Need to Many Common Legal Questions

Often, our clients have little experience with the law, and they share many questions and concerns when faced with a legal matter. The attorneys at Greenspun Shapiro PC understand you need answers, and we offer many of them here. Hear our thoughts on issues relating to criminal charges, traffic charges, real estate transactions, civil litigation, personal injury cases, business disputes, administrative hearings, and more.

  • Page 1
  • What are the possible defenses to a reckless driving ticket in Virginia?

    Reckless Driving ChargesReckless driving charges can have long-term consequences on your life. A conviction is a Class 1 misdemeanor and will result in you having a permanent criminal record. However, there are a number of defenses that you may be able to raise—with the help of an experienced reckless driving attorney—that may result in the charges being dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense with much less severe penalties.

    What Is Reckless Driving in Virginia?

    The Commonwealth of Virginia takes reckless driving very seriously, and there are at least 15 offenses that may constitute reckless driving. Reckless driving generally involves speeding. Here are the most common offenses:

    • Under Virginia Code § 46.2-862, you may be charged with reckless driving for driving over the speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more or in excess of 80 miles per hour.
       
    • Under Virginia Code § 46.2-852, it is illegal to drive recklessly or in a way that endangers the life or property of any person. This is a broad catch-all offense that gives the police broad leeway to charge you with reckless driving.

    If convicted of reckless driving, you face a sentence of up to 12 months in jail, a fine of $2,500, and six demerit points on your driving record.

    Defenses That May Help You Beat Reckless Driving Charges

    You will need the help of an experienced attorney to determine what defenses apply to your situation. However, the following are common defenses raised in these cases:

    • Location. The Commonwealth must prove that the reckless driving offense took place in the correct county or city where you were charged. If you were near the border between jurisdictions when you were charged, the officer who charged you may not have had authority to do so, in which case the charges may be dismissed.
       
    • Highway. This is another situation-specific defense. A highway is defined broadly in Virginia to include highways and many public roads. However, if your offense occurred in a gated community or another private roadway, you may not be able to be charged with this offense.
       
    • Radar or Lidar Calibration. If you are charged with reckless driving, the Commonwealth must establish that the radar or LIDAR used to check your speed was properly calibrated and working properly on the date you were charged. The device must have been calibrated within the prior six months, and the officer must have a valid certification that meets specific statutory requirements. The lack of a calibration certificate or a defective one are common defenses raised by experienced reckless driving attorneys that may result in the charges being lessened, or in some circumstances, dismissed.
       
    • Equipment use. Another defense related to the radar or LIDAR speed findings is that the police did not use the equipment properly. Use of these devices requires special training and experience. An experienced lawyer may be able to challenge how the officer used the device in order to get the reckless driving charge dismissed.
       
    • Your speedometer. In some cases, getting your speedometer calibrated can prove that the speedometer was not working properly and that you were unaware of the speed at which you were traveling. If you plan to claim that you were not speeding, you may have to have your speedometer calibrated. However, in many cases, the calibration shows no inaccuracies, so you want to discuss whether you should spend the money for this with your attorney before having it done.
       
    • GPS defense. A common defense can be that a person’s GPS showed that he was going at a lower speed than the officer claims. This can be a powerful defense. However, for it to be successful, you will need to show proof of the GPS reading at the time you were charged with this offense and proof that the GPS was accurate.

    Let Our Experienced Reckless Driving Attorneys Help

    These are just a few of the defenses that you may be able to raise to beat reckless driving charges. An experienced reckless driving attorney will be able to spot all of the helpful defenses in your case, as well as suggest other actions that you can take to minimize the penalties you face. Call our office today to schedule a free case evaluation with a member of our reckless driving legal team to learn more about your defenses and our extensive experience in these cases.

     

  • I received a ticket for reckless driving in Virginia. What do I do?

    Reckless Driving in VirginiaIf you are charged with reckless driving in Virginia, you may not realize the serious consequences of a conviction, or that you may have options to lessen them. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor offense in Virginia with penalties that include possible jail time and hefty fines. In addition, a guilty plea or plea of no contest would result in a permanent criminal record. Here, we share your options if you receive a reckless driving ticket so that you can minimize the harsh consequences you face.

    What Is Reckless Driving in Virginia?

    Reckless driving is treated seriously in Virginia, and you may be charged with this for more than just speeding. There are at least 15 separate reckless driving offenses, and they include the following:

    Penalties for Reckless Driving

    Reckless driving is a Class I misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. The court may also suspend your driver's license for up to six months. A conviction for reckless driving also results in a permanent criminal record and may hinder your ability to obtain certain employment or successfully undergo a thorough background check. In addition, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will impose six demerit points for a reckless driving conviction, why may in turn lead to higher insurance premiums.

    Options for Handling Your Reckless Driving Ticket

    You have a number of options for handling your reckless driving ticket, but not all are in your best interests. If your goal is to minimize the penalties, some of your choices will not lead to this result. However, it is still useful to know all your options before making the important decision of how to proceed in your case. These include the following:

    • Ignore the ticket. It is never a good idea to ignore a reckless driving ticket. If you do nothing after being ticketed for reckless driving, you may be found guilty by the judge at your hearing in your absence. A warrant may also be issued for your arrest.
       
    • Plead guilty or no contest. Another option would be to appear in court unrepresented and plead guilty or no contest. However, if you do this, you will be found guilty and end up with a permanent conviction. You will have a permanent criminal record that may affect your ability to obtain a job, a professional license, and more.
       
    • Represent yourself. While you may be tempted to represent yourself at your court hearing, the stakes of a conviction are high enough that this option is almost certainly not in your best interests. You may not know the technical requirements for the police officer to prove the charge, and you may be unaware of certain defenses that may apply. Moreover, you may lose out on the opportunity to have an experienced attorney negotiate on your behalf with the prosecution in order to potentially obtain a more favorable outcome.
       
    • Retain an attorney. Your best option is to retain an experienced traffic law attorney who has a record of success in handling reckless driving cases. The attorney can investigate the circumstances surrounding your ticket, raise any defenses you may have, and fight to get the ticket dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense.

    Pick the Right Option. Contact Our Office Today

    Were you charged with reckless driving? Make the right choice and contact our experienced traffic law attorneys today to schedule your free, no-obligation consultation. We will explain your legal options and how we may be able to fight to get the ticket dismissed or reduced to a lesser traffic violation.

     

  • What is a protective order? What are the different types of protective orders?

    When referencing restraining orders or court orders prohibiting contact between individuals, you have probably heard the terms “emergency protective order,” “two-year protective order,” and “preliminary protective order” used interchangeably.  However, while they are all forms of restraining orders, they each have a different meaning.  

    Why Do People Get Protective Orders?

    Abused spouse seeking protection order in Virginia

    Protective orders are necessary and highly beneficial in a lot of abusive relationships, but people will often seek protective orders unnecessarily to gain leverage in domestic disputes.  Protective orders are civil matters; therefore, if you are served with a protective order it is not a criminal charge and you will not have a criminal record.  However, protective orders often go hand-in-hand with criminal matters.  Regardless of the reason, it is important you seek counsel if you need a protective order or have been served with one.

    Where Are Protective Order Hearings Held?

    Hearings will be held in the Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court if the alleged abuse is committed against a family or household member; otherwise, the hearing will be held in the General District Court.

    What Are The Different Types of Protective Orders?

    1. Emergency Protective Order

    An emergency protective order pursuant to Virginia Code § 16.1-253.4 is typically issued by a magistrate or judge upon the request of a law enforcement officer who issued a warrant for domestic assault and battery.  In other words, if someone is arrested for domestic assault, an emergency protective order will be issued to protect the victim.  These protective orders are short and only last for 72 hours.  The purpose of an emergency protective order is to provide the victim a safe window of time to file for a preliminary protective order.

    2. Preliminary Protective Order

    Preliminary protective orders pursuant to Virginia Code § 16.1-253.1 are the first step toward obtaining a permanent protective order.  Preliminary protective orders are issued by a judge if the victim can establish probable cause that he or she was recently abused or is in reasonable fear of being abused.  If abuse has been established, the judge will grant a preliminary protective order, which lasts for 15 days.  Because the respondent, or person against which the preliminary protective order is filed, has the right to have his or her side heard, a full hearing on the matter is set within those 15 days.  A judge will hear the evidence and then determine whether or not to grant a permanent protective order.

    3. Two-Year Protective Order

    A two-year protective order may be issued pursuant to Virginia Code § 19.2-152.1.  While many people refer to this as a “permanent” protective order, it is not permanent because it can only be issued for a maximum of two years in Virginia.  To grant the two-year protective order, a judge must find by a preponderance of the evidence that the victim has suffered an act of family abuse (Virginia Code § 16.1-228) or an act of violence, force or threat (Virginia Code § 19.2-152.7:1), placing him or her in fear. 

    What Kind of Protection or Relief Can I Get with a Protective Order?

    Virginia Code § 16.1-279.1 provides the remedies and relief the court can grant with the issuance of a two-year protective order.  This can range from exclusive use and possession of a residence and/or car, to temporary visitation, custody and/or child support related to couples’ children.

    What is a Protective Order Violation?

    Violation of a protective order can have serious consequences such as mandatory jail time and misdemeanor or felony convictions (Virginia Code § 16.1-253.2).  In other words, although the issuance of a protective order does not mean you have a criminal record, if you violate the order, you will be charged criminally.  You can violate a protective order simply by sending a text message or email, if the order requires absolutely no contact.  It is possible to fashion a protective order to allow for some communication if necessary (such as in cases of parents with shared custody of children); however, the court’s order must be strictly followed. 

    Can I Extend the Protective Order for More Than Two Years?

    Virginia Code § 19.2-152.10:B allows a protective order to be extended prior to the expiration of the two years if the court finds the victim needs further protection. 

    Each order provides a source of safety and protection to someone who has been abused; however, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney at Greenspun Shapiro if you would like to petition for a protective order or have been served with a protective order.  

  • Firearm Rights: When and How They May Be Lost and Restored

    Gun control rightsWhile the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution gives individuals the right to bear arms, the states have wide discretion in regulating who can own, use, or otherwise handle firearms, the scope of such privileges, and how to regain those privileges if they have been lost.  One of the most common ways to lose your firearm privileges is to be convicted of a felony.  This article discusses what issues arise concerning firearm possession, use, and handling after being convicted of a state-level felony.  However, there are other ways that an individual who is not convicted of a felony may lose his right to own, possess, use, or otherwise handle firearms in Virginia.

    The main provisions disqualifying individuals in Virginia from gun possession, use, or handling are concentrated in Code §§ 18.2-308.1 through 18.2-311.  It may surprise you to find out that you do not even have to be convicted of a crime to lose your right to possess a firearm.  For example, Code § 18.2-308.1:1 through § 18.2-308.1:3 all deal with situations involving mental health issues.  If a person is acquitted of a crime by reason of insanity at the time the offense was committed, they cannot own a firearm.  Likewise, if someone was involuntarily committed or declared incompetent, they cannot possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm.  A violation of any of these provisions can be punished as a class 1 misdemeanor.

    If you have lost the ability to possess a firearm for a reason concerning your mental competence, you can seek to regain those rights.  A person who falls into this situation must seek reinstatement from the General District Court for the jurisdiction in which they live. Or, if the person is not Virginia residents, in the General District Court for the jurisdiction that last heard a matter concerning the proceedings that led to disqualification.  The person seeking reinstatement of their rights must show to the Court that they “will not be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety and that the [reinstatement of rights] would not be contrary to the public interest.”  Code § 18.2-308.1:1.  In deciding whether restoration is appropriate, the Court must consider the individual’s criminal history, treatment record, and reputation as developed through character witness statements, testimony, or other character evidence.

    Another way an individual may lose the right to possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm is by having a protective order in place.  Protective orders, which are civil cases, have the ancillary consequence of depriving individuals the right to possess, use, purchase, or otherwise handle firearms.  Violating this law can lead to a class 1 misdemeanor conviction.  There is also no way to restore the right to possess a firearm while a protective order is in place.  However, upon expiration of the protective order, the right to possess, use, or otherwise handle firearms is automatically restored.

    In Virginia, a person who is not legally present in the United States and is not a citizen also cannot possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm.  If a person who is not here legally is in possession of a firearm, they can be convicted of a class 6 felony.  This will have additional negative consequences for the person.

    A third and less commonly known way to have one’s firearm rights limited is after being convicted of two or more misdemeanors within 36 months.  For this law to disqualify an individual, the two misdemeanor convictions must be drug-related.  Even if a person falls within the provisions of this statute, they are only ineligible to “purchase or transport a handgun.”  There is no limitation on using or continuing to own handguns that were previously obtained by the individual.  Additionally, this statute only puts a prohibition on handguns, but not rifles, shotguns, or other types of guns.  Moreover, five years after the last conviction, this restriction is automatically removed.  

    If you need clarification on whether you can possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm, we are here to help.  If you need help restoring your rights because they were lost or restricted because of one of the circumstances above, we can help you with that too.  Give us a call to find out what can be done to preserve your constitutional rights.

  • I’ve Been Convicted of a Felony: What Does This Mean for My Gun Rights and What Can Be Done About It?

    Gun in background of Virginia State flagThe most common reason someone could lose their right to possess, use, transport, or do anything else with a firearm is a felony conviction.  Virginia Code § 18.2-308.2 sets out the laws regarding firearm possession, use, and handling for convicted felons.  Despite having lax gun laws, Virginia imposes stiff punishments on individuals who lose their right to possess, use, or otherwise handle firearms.

    Doing a prohibited act as defined by Code § 18.2-308.2 is considered a class 6 felony.  If a violator’s last felony conviction was within the last 10 years, he will receive a mandatory minimum prison sentence of two years.  If someone violates this section and was previously convicted of a violent felony set out in Code § 17.1-805, then he faces a mandatory jail sentence of five years in prison.

    It does not matter if the felony conviction has anything to do with guns or violence.  Any type of felony conviction is enough to disqualify a convicted felon from owning, using, or otherwise dealing with firearms.  If you lose your rights due to a Virginia or other state-level conviction, however, you may be able to get them back. The information below does not apply to people who have been convicted of federal felonies.  

    First of all, even if you’re a convicted felon, there are certain circumstances under which you may still be able to possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm.  In Code § 18.2-308.2(B) there are five exceptions to the general rule that one cannot possess, use, or otherwise handle a firearm after being convicted of a felony.  Furthermore, in Code § 18.2-308.2(C2), convicted felons who are not convicted of certain violent felonies may possess, use, or otherwise handle antique firearms and black powder as defined in Code § 18.2-308.2:2(G).

    If, however, you want to get unrestricted firearm privileges after being convicted of a felony, you must go through several steps.  First, you would need to have your civil rights restored by the governor of the state in which you were convicted.  Each state has different procedures for civil rights restorations.  

    Next, if the governor has restored your rights, then you may petition the Circuit Court for the area in which you live, if you live in Virginia, or the Circuit Court that last held proceedings concerning your most recent felony conviction, if you live outside of Virginia.  The Circuit Court will then hold a hearing, and you must explain to the court why there is “good cause” to reinstate your ability to possess, use, or otherwise handle firearms.  The court has wide discretion in determining whether good cause was shown, but it is not required to consider any specific criteria in reaching this decision.  If the court agrees to grant you firearm-related privileges, it can impose various conditions related to gun possession, use, or handling.

    If you have been disqualified from gun ownership due to a felony conviction and wish to have those rights restored, contact us to see what can be done in your case.

  • Can I Be Charged for Drug Possession or Distribution if The Drugs Are Not on Me or in my Vehicle?

    Man nervous about being charged for drug posessionIf you have illegal drugs in your pocket, in your hand, or in a bag or other container you are carrying, you are considered to be in actual possession of the drugs.  However, the law also recognizes another principle called “constructive possession,” which allows suspects to be convicted of drug crimes even if they are not in actual possession of the drugs.  Thus, even if the suspect is across the street from an illicit substance, he may still be charged if the government can prove the drugs were constructively possessed.  
     
    There are two legal elements for constructive possession:
     
    • First, did the suspect have knowledge of the substance’s nature and character?  In other words, did the person know, or have reason to know, they were in possession of an illegal substance?  They do not need to know the exact type of substance, however. It would not matter, for example, that a suspect thought he possessed heroin but actually possessed cocaine. 
       
    • The second element is whether the suspect knowingly exercised dominion and control over the drug.  For this, the court asks whether the suspect could access or do something with the drugs he is accused of constructively possessing.  If he had no authority to use the drugs, move them, or do anything else with them, then the person does not have dominion and control over the drug. 
    In deciding whether constructive possession has been proved, all of the circumstances present must be considered.  If the government fails to prove either aspect necessary for constructive possession (i.e., dominion and control or knowledge of the illegal character of the drug), then the individual should be found not guilty.  The good news is that Virginia recognizes that a suspect’s mere presence in an area where drugs are is not enough on its own to prove the suspect is constructively possessing drugs.  This is pretty much where the good news ends, because the suspect’s presence in the area is still a factor in the overall analysis of whether the suspect constructively possessed the drugs.  
     
    In addition to the suspect’s presence, the court will consider things like whether the drugs were in plain view of the suspect or whether the suspect would have been able to detect the drugs because of an overwhelming smell or other obvious characteristic.  Courts will also look at the behavior and statements of the individuals.  Furtive movements, like the appearance of something being hidden in the vehicle or thrown out of the vehicle, are often strong circumstantial indicators of knowledge and dominion and control.  A suspect’s admission that they knew the drugs were present is extremely informative and will often seal the deal on the issue of constructive possession.  
     
    There are numerous factors other than the ones discussed here that play into the determination of whether a suspect is in constructive possession of a drug.  If you have been charged with a drug possession or distribution charge, but the drugs were not on you, then there may be a number of legal issues with the government’s case.  Our attorneys are experienced in evaluating and defending such issues and can help you fight your charge.  Give us a call today to see how we can help.

  • Drug Residue – Can I Still Be Charged?

    Lab test for drug residue on paraphernaliaDrug users often carry paraphernalia used to consume drugs.  Marijuana users may have wraps, bowls, bongs, or a host of other devices.  A cocaine user may have a bowl, bill, or straw.  Heroin users may have spoons and needles.  Most drug users also are not the most scrupulous when it comes to cleaning, disinfecting, and making sure there is no drug residue left on their paraphernalia.  So what happens if the police seize your paraphernalia, test the residue, and charge you with a misdemeanor or felony drug possession charge?

    You may be thinking, “But it was only residue!  I wouldn’t even be able to get high off that!”  Surely if you cannot use the drug for the intended purpose – getting high – you cannot be charged.  Unfortunately, that is not the case.  

    In Virginia and in federal court, that argument is not a good one.  Courts have handily rejected those types of arguments.  If a lab test is performed on the residue, and the residue is returned as a prohibited substance, then the charge would be proper.  However, just because there is residue, does not mean there is a prohibited drug present.

    The Virginia legislature has outlawed the possession of specific drugs.  Those drugs are defined by their chemical composition.  This means that if the residue that remains in the paraphernalia or elsewhere does not match, it may be that the government will not be able to move forward with the case and will have to dismiss the drug charge.  

    If you have been charged with marijuana possession or another drug charge, contact the attorneys at Greenspun Shapiro PC today to see what can be done.  Our attorneys are familiar with a wide range of drug charges and the legal issues that arise out of such cases.  Let us help you fight your drug charge.

  • How long do traffic convictions stay on my criminal record?

    Traffic Violations May Result in a Criminal RecordMany people do not realize that traffic violations—even minor infractions—can have long-term consequences beyond just paying a ticket. In Virginia, traffic violations can affect your driving record and your criminal record if the violation is a misdemeanor. Because of this, you do not want to make the mistake of not taking a traffic violation seriously. With the help of an experienced traffic law attorney, you may be able to get the charges dismissed or reduced to an offense with lesser penalties.

    Common Traffic Violations That Result in Demerit Points on a Driving Record

    There are many minor infractions in Virginia that may not result in a permanent criminal record but will result in you being assessed a fine and demerit points on your driving record. This can also result in dramatic increases in your automobile insurance costs. The demerit points will generally come off your record in two years—but the infraction can remain on your driving record for 3 to 11 years depending on the severity of the infraction. Here are some common traffic violations that you may be charged with:

    • Driving too slowly. Virginia Code §46.2-877 makes it illegal to impede traffic by driving too slowly and comes with a fine and three demerit points.
       
    • Improper turn. Virginia Code §46.2-846 provides that it is a violation to make a right turn from other than the right-hand or turn lane or to make a left turn from other than the lane nearest the center lane. The penalty is a fine and three demerit points.
       
    • Failing to yieldVirginia Code §46.2-820 through 829 makes it a violation to fail to yield the right of way in a variety of driving situations, such as failing to yield the right of way to oncoming traffic when making a left turn. The penalty is a fine and four demerit points.
       
    • Failing to obey a traffic signal. Virginia Code §46.2-833 requires drivers to obey traffic signals. Failure to do so may result in a fine and four demerit points.
    • Failing to obey a highway sign. Virginia Code §46.2-830 requires drivers to obey high signs. Failure to do so may result in a fine and three demerit points.

     

    • Speeding. Virginia Code §46.2-870 through Virginia Code §46.2-875 sets the speed limits on highways and other Virginia roads. Depending on how fast a person is speeding, he may be assessed up to six demerit points and have the conviction remain on his driving record for 11 years.

    More Serious Traffic Violations That May Result in a Permanent Criminal Record

    Some common traffic violations are misdemeanor offenses in Virginia that carry more severe penalties and the risk of a permanent criminal record. A criminal record may affect many aspects of your life, such as your ability to obtain a job, to keep a professional license, to obtain or maintain a security clearance, and to obtain a loan. These violations are serious enough that you must attend court and cannot simply prepay a ticket to avoid appearing in court. Here are some common traffic violations that are misdemeanors:

    • Driving without a license or with a suspended license. Virginia Code §46.2-300 prohibits driving without a license, and Virginia Code §46.2-301 makes it illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked license. This may result in a Class 1 misdemeanor—the most serious misdemeanor—with a penalty of up to one year in jail, $2,500 in fines, and suspension of a driver’s license. Subsequent violations may result in felony charges.
       
    • Reckless driving. Virginia Code §46.2-852 provides that regardless of the posted speed limit that it is a violation of the law to drive recklessly or in a manner that endangers a person. Virginia code §46.2-862 provides that a person may be charged with reckless driving for driving 20 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit or over 80 miles per hour. This is also a Class 1 misdemeanor that may result in jail time, significant fines, and/or suspension of your driving privileges.
    • Hit and run. It is a violation of Virginia Code §46.2-894 for a driver to leave the scene of an accident without stopping to provide contact information and to give help to any injured victims of the wreck. Passengers can also face criminal charges for not reporting the accident when the driver fails to do so, and both the driver and passenger may be charged with other offenses for leaving the scene of an unattended vehicle accident. This can result in a Class 5 or 6 felony or a misdemeanor charge depending on the severity of the accident. Penalties can include a prison or jail sentence, fines, or both.
       
    • Driving under the influence. Virginia Code §46.2-266 prohibits driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, driving with a blood-alcohol level of .08 percent or higher, or driving under the influence of marijuana or a drug or other intoxicant. A first offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor, but under Virginia Code §46.2-270, a third or subsequent conviction can result in a Class 6 felony conviction with a maximum prison sentence of five years and a $2,500 fine. Virginia law also imposes mandatory minimum sentences for certain subsequent convictions, as well as in cases with an elevated blood alcohol level.

    Let Us Help You Fight Your Traffic Charges

    If you just pay your ticket, you need to realize that this is an admission of guilt and has long-term consequences on your driving and criminal record. Even if you believe you are guilty, you may have defenses that may result in the dismissal of the charges or the reduction to a less serious offense. Lack of probable cause to stop you, improper administering of DUI-related tests, and violations of your constitutional rights are a few of the defenses you may have. To learn how we can help you achieve the best possible outcome, call our office today to schedule a free consultation.

     

  • How long will it take to settle my personal injury case?

    Personal Injury Claims and When They SettleIf you are like most personal injury accident victims, one of the top questions that you have is about the length of time it will take to resolve your personal injury claim. There is a very practical reason for needing to know this. You want to get on with your life, and you need the settlement proceeds to pay for the expensive medical treatments and replace your wages while you were off work recovering from your injuries. Unfortunately, even an experienced personal injury attorney cannot tell you exactly how long it will take to settle your claim—but he can give you an idea by considering how certain factors impact your case.

    Factors That Will Affect How Long it Takes to Settle a Personal Injury Claim

    While it is impossible to predict a firm date for the resolution of your case, you can get a good sense of the time that will be needed to resolve your case. You do this by looking at the factors that influence the time period it takes to resolve a personal injury claim and how they play out in your case. Here are some factors that affect how quickly your claim may be settled:

    • Maximum medical recovery. You are entitled to compensation for your injuries. Therefore, the length of time it takes to recover from your injuries will affect how long it takes to resolve your claim. If you want to be fully compensated for your injuries, you have to know how much your medical bills will be and how long you will be unable to work. You will know this information until you reach your maximum medical recovery or your doctor gives you a final prognosis. Until you know this, you cannot realistically settle your claim.
       
    • Documentation of your claim. Your attorney will need to collect all the documents related to your medical care, your medical bills, your lost wages, and any other out-of-pocket expenses to determine the value of your claim. He may also include some of this information in a demand package to the insurance company that outlines your claim and what you would accept in settlement. It can take time to obtain these documents from medical providers and your employer, and some documents cannot be obtained until you reach your maximum medical recovery.
       
    • Disputes in your case. When there are disputes with the insurance company about liability or the seriousness of your injuries, it can delay the settlement of your claim. In some cases, an attorney can resolve these arguments relatively quickly by providing the adjuster with additional documentation to support your position. In other cases, the insurance company may not back down—your attorney may need to hire expert witnesses and file a lawsuit to get the insurance company to offer a reasonable settlement amount.
       
    • Negotiation process. Even in a claim where the negligent party’s liability for a victim’s injuries are clear-cut, the negotiation process can take time, and the insurance company may raise some initial arguments as to why it should not pay the full amount requested. Once your attorney sends the insurance company a demand package, you must wait for the insurance company to respond either in a letter or telephone call. There are usually a series of communications between your attorney and the insurance adjuster during negotiations.
       
    • Amount of your claim. If you suffered catastrophic injuries or there is a wrongful death claim, the value of your claim may be larger. When claims are worth more, insurance companies will investigate the claim more thoroughly and fight harder to deny or reduce a claim. This may result in your claim taking longer to settle, and it may require your attorney to litigate your case before it can be resolved.
       
    • Insurance company. Some insurance companies have a reputation for being harder to work with when settling personal injury claims—at least for what the claim is worth. This may be a major factor that causes your claim to take longer to settle.

    It is important to realize that you want to wait, if necessary, to settle your personal injury claim so that you receive the compensation that you deserve. Once you settle your claim, the settlement is final—you cannot go back to the insurance company later and demand more money.

    Were you injured in a personal injury accident caused by another person’s negligence? Call our Fairfax law office today to schedule a free consultation to learn how our experienced personal injury attorneys can help you file your claim and get the compensation that you deserve.

     

  • What are the pros and cons of agreeing to entering into a plea bargain in my criminal case?

    Pros and Cons of a Plea AgreementThe reality is that most criminal cases are resolved through a plea agreement between the prosecutor and the defendant. If you face criminal charges, you will most likely have to decide at some point in your case whether or not to accept a plea agreement. This is a very important decision in your criminal case since a criminal conviction can have long-term consequences. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you make this important decision.

    What Is a Plea Agreement?

    A plea agreement is an agreement between the prosecutor and the defendant to resolve the criminal case where the defendant agrees to plead guilty or no contest to a certain crime and the prosecutor agrees to provide the defendant a benefit for doing so. Plea agreements come in many different forms. In some cases, no actual "plea agreement" is reached with the prosecutor, but the prosecutor agrees to recommend a certain sentence to the judge in exchange for the defendant's agreement to plead guilty either to the original charged offense or to a lesser offense. In other cases, the prosecutor may agree to reduce the charged offense to a lesser offense in exchange for the defendant's agreement to plead guilty. There may or many not also be an "agreement" on a specific sentence, or an agreement by the prosecutor to recommend a specific sentence to the court. 

    In cases where there is no actual "agreement" between the parties regarding sentencing but only a recommendation by the prosecutor of a particular sentence, the court may or may not follow the prosecutor's recommendation. It is important to keep in mind that the jude's decision not to follow a "recommendation" on sentencing following the entry and acceptance of a guilty plea is generally not a basis to withdraw the guilty plea.

    On the other hand, when the prosecutor and defendant enter into a plea agreement, the judge must first approve it. There would be a court hearing where the parties present the terms of the plea agreement to the judge. The judge would then question the defendant to be certain that he fully understood the terms of the agreement and voluntarily agreed to it. Then the judge would decide whether or not to approve the plea agreement.

    What Are the Pros and Cons of Entering Into a Plea Agreement?

    As with any agreement between parties where there is a dispute, a plea bargain involves a compromise. For the prosecutor and the judge, there are clear benefits of resolving a case through a plea bargain, including judicial economy and efficient resolution of their caseloads. In additiona, prosecutors may gain the cooperation of the defendant as part of a plea agreement, which may assist their investigation or prosecution of other individuals. Judges have a similar incentive for wanting a criminal case to be settled—reduction of an already congested docket of court cases.

    For you as the defendant, the decision whether to accept a plea agreement is more complicated and has more long-term ramifications. Here are some of the benefits of entering into a plea agreement:

    • Remove uncertainty. One of the benefits of entering into a plea agreement is removing the uncertainty of the outcome of the case, which may result in you being found guilty of a more serious offense at trial. 
    • Lesser sentence and charges. A plea agreement may either result in a reduction in the charges against you, or a less severe sentence. This could affect more than just the penalties that could be imposed. For example, if you hold a professional license, you may risk its revocation if you are convicted of a felony. However, if you plead guilty to a misdemeanor offense, you may reduce the risk the losing your license and your job.
    • Cost and time. Taking your case to trial can be time consuming, expensive, and very stressful. You must pay your attorney to thoroughly investigate the crime, prepare for trial, and conduct your trial. In addition, you may need to pay expert witness fees for the experts you might need to help prove your innocence. You avoid these costs when you enter into a plea agreement. More importantly, you avoid the stress and anxiety of trial.

    There are also disadvantages to entering into a plea agreement. You should consider the disadvantages as well as the benefits when making your decision. Some of these include:

    • Innocence. Unfortunately, being completely innocent of committing the offense you are being charged with does not guarantee a not guilty verdict at trial. When you are innocent and feel you must plead guilty to a lesser offense, it can feel unjust and immoral that you are being forced to do this for practical reasons.
    • Coercion. You could face strong pressure from the prosecutor, the judge, and possibly your attorney to accept a plea agreement. You may feel unreasonable pressure to enter into the plea agreement that you are not certain is in your best interests. If this is how you feel, you should take a step back, reevaluate your options, and consult with an experienced attorney who will properly advise you on your options and the best path forward for you.
    • Lack of investigation. Because police officers, prosecutors, and defense attorneys know most cases are settled through a plea agreement, there may not be sufficient investigation of the crime by the police or even your own attorney. This could result in an important defense that may result in dismissal of the charges against you being overlooked. You need to retain an experienced attorney who understands the importance of conducting a thorough investigation and fighting the charges when doing so is in your best interest.
    • Loss of constitutional rights. When you enter into a plea agreement, you give up important constitutional rights, such as the right to have a jury decide your case, the right to plead not guilty and persist in that plea, the right to confront and cross-examine witnesses against you, and the right to testify in your own defense or to remain silent.
    • Sentence. By entering into a plea agreement, you would be pleading guilty or no contest to some offense that will result in the imposition of a sentence of some sort, even if it is probation or the payment of fines.
    • Criminal record. If you plead guilty to any charge, even a misdemeanor, you will have a permanent criminal record that may affect your ability to obtain employment, a loan, security clearance, and more.

    If you have been charged with a crime, let our experienced criminal defense attorneys investigate the charges against you, build a strong defense, and help you decide whether a plea agreement is in your best interests. To schedule your free case evaluation, call our office or fill out our convenient online form today.